Accessibility | Site map | Contact us | Version francaise
Bandeau Maxilly
Votre barre d'outils Ajouter aux favoris Diminuer la taille de la police (petite).Augmenter la taille de la police (grande).La mise en forme courante correspond à celle par défaut. Pour imprimer le document, utilisez les fonctionnalités de votre navigateur. Envoyer à un ami

Maxilly-sur-Léman

1,232 inhabitants (known as "Maxilliens")
Surface area: 4.07 km²
Altitude: 375 to 800 metres

Bordering Lake Léman for more than 2 kilometres and located 3 kilometres east of Evian, Maxilly rises to an altitude of 800 metres to the south and forms a magnificent belvedere facing the coast and the Swiss Jura. The district is crossed by the Montigny and Le Coppy brooks, which, flowing down to the lake, have carved a deep ravine, apart from the central section.

Maxilly takes its name from the "Estate of Marcelluis", a Roman nobleman who, passing through during the time of the Roman conquests, fell in love with the beautiful landscape and decided to settle down there.
Later, starting in the 13th century, the seigneury and castle of Maxilly belonged to the Blonay family. In 1536, Maxilly was the only parish of the Gavot area to fall into the hands of the invading Bernese. For this reason, the district constituted a Protestant enclave in a Catholic country.


Heritage
Church with a unique nave, dating from the early 19th century, as well as several oratories scattered about the village.
Water mill (renovation under study).

Activities
Arboretum and chestnut grove.
Outdoor theatre.
Pierre du Diable or "Devil's Rock": an erratic, granite block left by a glacier. It is thought to have been used for sacrifices.
Footpaths.
Lake access via the Place des Pêcheurs, as well as a beach.

Facilities: 3 pétanque pitches, a playground and a stadium with a football and rugby club.

Maxilly Town Hall
74500 Maxilly
Tel: +33 (0)4 50 75 04 38 / Fax: +33 (0)4 50 74 60 09
E-mail: mairie.maxilly@wanadoo.fr
www.maxilly-sur-leman.fr